Karine Bosch’s Blog

On SharePoint

Silverlight meets SharePoint


The first versions of Silverlight have seen the light in 2007 and 2008, and in July 2009 Silverlight 3 has been released. It is an exciting and promising new technology. Silverlight is a browser plug-in that runs on the client and that can render animations, audio and video. To shorten the learn curve for the developer it exposes a subset of the .NET framework, but it is also able to execute javascript and to interact with other elements on the HTML page.

I have been involved in the integration of Silverlight in SharePoint 2007 from the first version of Silverlight and I had the luck to work on the Silverlight BluePrint for SharePoint together with Patrick Tisseghem. I’m a big fan ever since. I’m very glad to see that Microsoft follows this path and that Silverlight integration is built in out of the box in SharePoint 2010. I followed blogs and presentations on this subject for years now, and to my humble opinion these publications never go far enough.  I’m convinced there is a future for this match. Silverlight can be used to enrich your SharePoint sites but it can also play an important functional role.

In the following series I’m going to use the best of both worlds and detail a number of samples in almost every scenario in SharePoint 2007 that I can think of. You will also be able to download most of the samples.

I hope this set of samples will get you started and I hope it inspires you to come up with other scenarios.

February 8, 2010 - Posted by | SharePoint 2007, Silverlight

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

