Karine Bosch’s Blog

On SharePoint

I’m still standing


On September 3th my world collapsed: not only I lost my best friend and mentor but also the job I liked so much. As from the day Patrick told me that SharePoint was the technology to which he was going to dedicate his professional life, I started working on it, first a bit skeptic (Ted likes to describe this as the first “denial” phase) . Curiously enough I never went through the second (“angry”) phase, anyway not that I can rember. I’m in the happy phase since a loooong time. I always liked the challenge to make things work in SharePoint. And SharePoint is one big challenge…. Silverlight made the challenge even bigger.

After Patricks death I finished the last project we were working on together and since then Sharepoint became my playground in my own free time.  I felt like Alice in wonderland…

alice2

 

 

 

For those who remember my homage early September, I promised that I was not going to give up. Well, I’m not giving up. I said that I was going to follow his trail and that’s what I’m doing. I continued to get up early – my colleagues at U2U know that this is very early – to not loose my grip on SharePoint and I have to say that I still learned a lot. The results will appear on this blog. Yesterday was my last day at U2U and today I start working for Andrew Connell and the Ted Pattison Group to have SharePoint back in my daily live. 

My home-made community tools (like the CAML Query Builder, the List Properties Feature and the Site Properties feature) are U2U property. This means that they are still available for download from the U2U site but no extra functionality will be added anymore. Perhaps I will start over again later. We’ll see… 

 I want to thank Patrick’s wife Linda who has the courage to consolate me despite her own grief. I want to thank my colleagues at U2U, my family and friends who stood by me in those dark dark days. And of course, I want to thank my husband for all his support in good days and in bad days.

Also a big thank you to Andrew and Ted who are willing to give me a place among them and for this beautiful and challenging opportunity they offer me.

SharePoint here I come again!

January 17, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

4 Comments »

  1. Karine,

    I’m writing this not as colleague or ex-colleague but as a friend. Since I started to work with SharePoint there were a few people where I could go to when a had questions in the “denial phase”, you were and are one of them.

    You are not alone CAML girl (which you will always be), but you are a SharePoint Guru.

    I hope that you can deliver the same work you did at U2U, and I will be visiting this blog regularly.

    So best in your carreer, and you are always welcome with Stef to taste good whisky here.

    Comment by Kevin DeRudder | January 17, 2009 | Reply

  2. Dear Karine,

    I wish you the best of luck with this new adventure in your live.
    When I was doing SharePoint development in the past I remember looking up to Patrick and you long before meeting you personally.

    And when I did meet Patrick and you, you were both so nice and encouraging to me. I will never forget the discussions we had during TechEd 2007.

    I’m sure you will continue to stand in the future and that you will go for this new opportunity with a lot of motivation. Don’t forget you can always count on me if I can help with anything.

    Comment by Katrien | January 18, 2009 | Reply

  3. Hello Karine,

    I wish you all the luck in your past U2U days.
    Following your inner drive is the best path to happiness.

    Enjoy life

    Yves

    Comment by Yves Hanoulle | January 18, 2009 | Reply

  4. Hi Karine,

    I am sure that Sharepoint will bring you lots of happiness in the future.
    And I am confident that whatever challenges you might face, you will find the courage to deal with them.

    Have lots of fun and good luck!

    Ann

    Comment by Ann Moerenhout | February 4, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

